The Short Answer

Verified against vendor pricing pages in August 2026: the cheapest genuine entry point in this category is Chaser at £179/month billed annually (£199 monthly), for businesses under roughly $5M in revenue. The only other vendor publishing per-seat rates is Kolleno, from €545/user/month billed annually — which, for a three-person AR team, is €19,620 a year before you have negotiated anything. Upflow gives away a free forever analytics plan but quotes for the collections automation itself. The payables side of the same finance function prices very differently — one vendor there publishes every transaction fee down to the $1.50 check, which we worked through in Stampli vs Tipalti vs Melio.

Everything else is quote-only. Third-party transaction data puts mid-market platforms in the $20,000–$50,000 per year band, with implementation frequently adding more than the software. Enterprise invoice-to-cash suites — Billtrust, HighRadius, Esker, Sidetrade — publish nothing and scope by module and volume.

The single most useful number in this article is not a price. It is the spread: for one $12M-revenue company with a three-person AR team, we priced the same requirement at roughly $8,400 to $130,000 in year one across six vendors. That gap is not a quality gap. It is a pricing-base gap, and it is the thing to understand before you take a single demo.

Who Publishes a Price, and Who Doesn't

The opacity here is a category norm, not an accident. The analyst firm ERP Research reports that 12 of the 13 vendors it tracks in invoice-to-cash publish no list price at all. Our own count, across a partly different set of 13, is slightly less bleak: three publish usable figures, ten run demo-first sales processes with nothing on the page.

VendorPublished price?Entry figure (Aug 2026)Priced on
ChaserYes — four public tiers£199/mo (£179 annual)Company revenue band
KollenoYes — public per-user rates€650/user/mo (€545 annual)Users, gated by turnover
UpflowPartly — free tier public, paid tiers notFree (Discover analytics plan)ARR band
GavitiNoCustom quoteInvoice volume, unlimited users
EskerNoCustom quoteTransaction/document volume, annual bundles
TesorioNo~$25K–$40K/yr entry (third-party)Modules and scope
VersapayNo~$20K–$50K/yr entry (third-party)Seats + volume + ERP + modules
HighRadiusNo~$13K/yr median (third-party, small sample)Modules, outcome-based contracts
GrowfinNoCustom quoteNot disclosed; demo-first
InvoicedNoCustom quoteNot disclosed; demo-first
BilltrustNoCustom quoteModules × invoice/payment volume
SidetradeNoCustom quoteSubscription + AI/consumption components
PaystandNoCustom quote (flat platform fee)Flat fee; 0% on-network transactions

Two things are worth pulling out of that table. First, the "third-party" figures are not vendor marketing — they come from marketplace transaction data and buyer-side consultancies, and we have flagged which is which rather than presenting estimates as list prices. Second, before you compare any of these numbers, check that the vendor can read your accounting system at all — we mapped what all 15 platforms actually connect to, and at Kolleno the ERP you run decides whether the published rate card applies to you in the first place. Third, Paystand is the only vendor whose pricing model is structurally different rather than merely opaque: it charges a flat platform subscription and takes 0% on bank-to-bank payments over its own network, which makes it the one entry where transaction economics can matter more than the subscription. Full sourced profiles for all thirteen sit in our accounts receivable automation directory.

The Four Pricing Bases (and Why Quotes Don't Compare)

This is the part the range-quoting articles skip. "$1,000 to $5,000 a month" is useless advice because it averages across four models that behave in opposite directions as your business changes.

1. Per AR user — Kolleno

Kolleno's live pricing page states rates "per user/month": Business Pay at €650/user/month, or €545 billed annually, with a one-user minimum and a stated turnover floor above $1M. Business Plus is €1,245/user/month, or €995 annually, with a two-user minimum and a $10M turnover positioning. Cost scales with how many people work your receivables ledger. That is excellent if your whole point is automating so you never hire a fourth collector, and punishing if you run a large shared-services AR function. Doubling a three-person team to six on Business Plus takes you from €35,820 to €71,640 a year, with no change in invoice volume.

2. Company revenue band — Chaser, Upflow

Chaser sells four tiers gated by revenue: Compact under $5M, Core under $13M, Complete under $120M, then Custom. Users are unlimited from Core upward. Upflow uses ARR bands too — Grow ($0–$10M), Scale ($10M–$50M), Strategic ($50M+) — though it publishes no dollar figures for them. Cost is flat until you cross a boundary, then it steps. The mismatch to watch: revenue is a poor proxy for AR workload. A business doing $9M across forty enterprise contracts issues perhaps forty invoices a month and pays the same as one doing $9M across four thousand small invoices. If you are the first business, revenue-band pricing is expensive per invoice; if you are the second, it is the best deal in the category.

3. Invoice, transaction, or document volume — Gaviti, Esker

Gaviti prices on invoice volume and workflows rather than seats, and includes unlimited users, unlimited workflows and full module flexibility on every package. Esker prices on transactions and documents processed per month, usually sold as annual bundles. Cost tracks the work the software actually does, which is the most defensible base of the four — and the one where contract detail matters most. Ask what happens at the bundle ceiling: overage rates, whether unused volume rolls over, and whether a seasonal spike re-bands you for the year.

4. Modules × volume, enterprise quote — Billtrust, HighRadius, Versapay, Invoiced, Sidetrade, Tesorio, Growfin

The largest group. Price is a function of which modules you switch on — collections, cash application, credit, deductions, e-invoicing, payments — multiplied by the volume flowing through them, negotiated per deal. Versapay's structure is typical: seats, transaction volume, ERP integration and module mix, plus payment processing fees, with cards typically 2.5%–3.5%. Sidetrade adds a 2026 wrinkle worth knowing before you sit down: it is repositioning under an "O2C Intelligence 2030" plan from pure subscription toward a mix of subscription and AI-related revenue, so expect consumption or agent-based line items alongside the platform fee.

The practical consequence: you cannot line up four quotes and read across. Before comparing anything, write down your three numbers — AR headcount, annual revenue, monthly invoice volume — and re-derive each quote as an annual total against all three. A vendor that looks cheap on the base it prefers is frequently the most expensive on yours.

Worked Example: One Company, Six Quotes

Take a concrete business and run it through every vendor whose pricing we can actually model. Profile: B2B software company, $12M annual revenue, roughly 1,200 invoices a month, three-person AR team, running NetSuite, no current collections tool beyond spreadsheets and a shared inbox.

Revenue puts it inside Chaser's Core band (under $13M) and above Kolleno's $10M Business Plus positioning. Here is year one, with the arithmetic shown.

OptionSubscription mathsYear-one softwarePlus implementation
Upflow DiscoverFree plan, analytics only$0$0 — but no collections automation
Chaser Core (annual)£539/mo × 12 = £6,468~$8,400Not separately priced at this tier
HighRadiusMedian contract ~$13K (third-party, small sample)~$13,000$0 implementation fee (vendor's stated model)
Kolleno Business Pay (annual)€545 × 3 users × 12€19,620Add-ons and customisations billed extra
Tesorio (Team tier)Third-party range $25K–$40K$25,000–$40,000+$10,000–$50,000 → $35K–$90K yr 1
Kolleno Business Plus (annual)€995 × 3 users × 12€35,820Add-ons and customisations billed extra
Versapay (entry)Third-party range $20K–$50K$20,000–$50,000+$30,000–$80,000 → $50K–$130K yr 1

GBP converted at approximately $1.30/£, August 2026; treat USD equivalents as indicative. Kolleno publishes its rate card in euros with no currency selector (re-verified 25 August 2026) and is shown unconverted; an earlier version of this article gave those figures in dollars. Third-party ranges are marketplace and consultancy estimates, not vendor list prices — sources are cited on each directory profile.

Read the table twice. The first read says Chaser costs somewhere between a sixth and a fifteenth of Versapay, which is true and not the whole story: Versapay's number buys a shared supplier-buyer portal with in-portal dispute resolution and 90%+ straight-through cash application across ACH, wire, check, card and lockbox. Chaser's number buys automated chasing by email, SMS and auto-dialled phone calls, plus a payment portal. If your problem is "invoices go unchased," Chaser solves it for $8,400. If your problem is "we reconcile 1,200 payments a month by hand and half our disputes die in email," Chaser does not solve it at any price.

The second read is the one that saves money. Notice that Kolleno's two tiers differ by €16,200 a year for the same three people, and that the split between them is described as a turnover positioning rather than a hard cap. At $12M revenue you sit in exactly that ambiguous zone — which is a negotiating position, not a problem. Ask explicitly which tier they will sell you and why, in writing.

And notice the direction each model moves if the business grows. Add three collectors and Kolleno Business Plus goes to €71,640 while Chaser Core does not move at all. Cross $13M in revenue and Chaser steps up to Complete (£809/month annual, roughly $12,600) while Kolleno does not move. Neither vendor is being unfair; they are charging for different things. If you want to sanity-check what an invoice-chasing win is worth before spending any of this, our invoice due date calculator and profit margin calculator are a faster first pass than a demo.

The Costs That Aren't in the Subscription Line

Three line items routinely exceed the software fee in year one.

Implementation. Third-party estimates put Versapay implementation at $30,000–$80,000 and Tesorio at $10,000–$50,000. Esker scopes and prices services separately as a matter of policy. Against a $20,000 subscription, that is not a footnote — it is the majority of your first-year cheque. HighRadius is the deliberate outlier: it markets outcome-based contracts with $0 implementation fees and post-go-live gain-share tied to mutually agreed success criteria, with implementations typically running three to six months. Whether gain-share beats a fixed fee depends entirely on how those success criteria are written, so read them as carefully as the price.

Payment processing. Any vendor that also moves the money makes money on the movement. Versapay processes directly as a registered ISO of Wells Fargo, Fifth Third, U.S. Bank and Elavon, with card rates typically 2.5%–3.5%. On $12M of annual receipts, a 50-basis-point difference in card economics is $60,000 — seven times the entire Chaser subscription. This is precisely the gap Paystand is built to attack: a flat platform fee with 0% transaction fees on bank-to-bank payments over the Paystand Network, and legacy rails at pre-negotiated wholesale rates. If a meaningful share of your receipts is card-based, model the processing spread before you model the subscription.

The seat creep you didn't plan. Per-user pricing quietly taxes the sales and CS people you want looking at receivables. Upflow's entire pitch is that collections works better when sales is looped into the workflow alongside finance — a design that is free to adopt under unlimited-user pricing and expensive under per-user pricing. Ask what a read-only or occasional collaborator seat costs before you build your process around one.

Which Pricing Base Fits Your Shape

Match the base to your business rather than shortlisting on features, which have largely converged in this category anyway.

  • Small AR team, high invoice count, modest revenue → revenue-band pricing wins outright. Chaser Compact at £179/month annual for a business issuing hundreds of invoices a month is the best cost-per-invoice in the category.
  • Small AR team, low invoice count, high revenue → revenue bands work against you and per-user pricing is your friend. Kolleno's one-user minimum on Business Pay is the relevant floor.
  • Large or growing AR function → avoid per-user entirely. Go to volume-based (Gaviti explicitly includes unlimited users; Esker prices documents) or a revenue band with unlimited seats (Chaser Core and above).
  • Cash application is the actual bottleneck → you are in the enterprise quote group whether you like it or not, because that is where the matching engines live: Versapay, Billtrust, Gaviti, HighRadius, Tesorio, Invoiced. Budget implementation as a separate project.
  • Card receipts are a large share of collections → evaluate on transaction economics first. Paystand's flat-fee, 0%-on-network model and Versapay's processing margins are the two poles.
  • You only need visibility, not automation, this quarter → start on Upflow's free Discover plan, get an honest DSO and aging baseline, then buy automation next quarter with real numbers in hand.

What to Ask Before You Take a Quote

Six questions, each aimed at a cost that only appears after signature:

  1. "What is this priced on, and what happens when that number doubles?" Get the base named explicitly — users, revenue, invoices, documents — and the next band's price in writing.
  2. "What is the implementation fee, and what is in scope?" Separate the software line from the services line before comparing anything.
  3. "What are the payment processing rates, by rail?" Card, ACH, wire and check economics separately. On volume this outweighs the subscription.
  4. "Which modules are in this number?" In the enterprise group, collections, cash application, credit, deductions and e-invoicing are frequently separate SKUs.
  5. "What does a non-AR collaborator seat cost?" Ask before you design a sales-inclusive collections process you then cannot afford.
  6. "What is the overage rate at the bundle ceiling?" For volume-priced contracts, this is the clause that turns a good deal into a bad one in month nine.

One structural point in your favour: in a category where ten of thirteen vendors publish nothing, the three that do set a public anchor. Chaser's £539/month for an unlimited-user, sub-$13M-revenue deployment is a number any competing rep now has to argue against. Bring it to the call.

A seventh question worth adding since we published this, given that AR automation becomes your invoice-to-cash system of record: "What happens to my data if you shut down?" The answer you want is an on-demand export right rather than a termination-triggered one — see SaaS vendor shutdown risk for why the distinction decides whether a wind-down is an inconvenience or a rebuild.

FAQ

How much does accounts receivable automation software cost?

Verified published entry prices in August 2026 run from £179/month (Chaser Compact, annual billing) to €545/user/month (Kolleno Business Pay, annual billing). Quote-only mid-market platforms cluster around $20,000–$50,000 per year before implementation, and enterprise suites reach six figures in year one. For the $12M-revenue company modelled above, the same requirement priced between roughly $8,400 and $130,000 in year one depending on vendor.

Which AR automation vendors publish their prices?

Three of thirteen: Chaser (four public revenue-banded tiers), Kolleno (public per-user rates), and Upflow (free tier public, paid tiers not). Billtrust, Esker, Gaviti, Growfin, HighRadius, Invoiced, Paystand, Sidetrade, Tesorio and Versapay publish no list price.

Why can't I compare AR automation quotes directly?

Because the four pricing bases do not convert into each other. A per-user quote rewards a small AR team and penalises a large one; a revenue-band quote ignores how many invoices you issue; a volume quote ignores headcount entirely. Normalise every quote against your headcount, revenue and monthly invoice volume together before comparing.

Is implementation included?

Usually not. Third-party estimates put Versapay implementation at $30,000–$80,000 and Tesorio at $10,000–$50,000; Esker prices services separately. HighRadius is the exception, marketing $0 implementation fees with post-go-live gain-share instead.

Is there a free AR automation tool?

Upflow's Discover plan is free forever, but it is analytics — dashboards, DSO, aging — rather than collections automation, which sits behind a quote. Chaser and Kolleno offer free trials, not free tiers. No vendor here gives away full invoice-to-cash automation on an ongoing basis.

Does cheaper software mean worse collections?

No — it usually means a narrower job. Chaser automates chasing; Versapay and Billtrust automate chasing and cash application, disputes, credit and payment processing at enterprise volume. Buy for the bottleneck you actually have. Paying enterprise prices to solve "nobody sends the reminders" is the most common expensive mistake in this category.